Thursday, April 26, 2007

Episode 2: Ching Chong

I was at work today and the new word I've learnt today is: Ching Chong. My 2 colleagues, a korean+vietnamese guy and a philipines gal were having some conversation and as I walked towards them, the guy asked..

Guy: Joy, do i look Ching Chong?
*Gal was laughing her head off*
Me: What!? What Ching Chong?
*I assumed Ching Chong meant chinese*
Me: Yea of course you do look Ching Chong. You're what? Korean + what again?
Guy: Vietnamese.
Me: Yea, you're still yellow, of course you look Ching Chong
Guy: Aww MANN..I dont wanna talk to youu

Later 2 more colleagues joined in the conversation and it went on saying the korean+vietnamese guy look DAMN Ching Chong. We all really laughed our head off, obviously there wasn't any customer that's why we all were just taking a break and chit chat.

Work has been good so far, lotsa shit to learn with also a bunch of cool, nice and friendly people to work with. I could talk to them about lotsa shit, it's not as boring as I thought...$_$ is still what that matters :) Obviously, with some spice in it.

xoxo, Uebel

Monday, April 23, 2007

Episode 1: Pilot

It was first day or work, fun but tiring, I sat there like sohai reading 7 brouchures, basically I got paid by sitting there for like 3 hours, how much more can I ask for? *smiles*

I was also watching at the monitor that all the security cameras were showing, at some point I almost dozed off just looking what other staffs were doing. I then walked to the shop floor, trying to see whether there was anything I could learn from other staffs. I ended my work day by doing the decoration for the upcoming Mother's Day. I will prolly take a photo tomorrow and see if I could post it up here :)
I am still waiting for my uniform and name tag :) Wee!!
xoxo, Uebel

Sunday, April 22, 2007

My new pair of Mina Martini!!

Yes so I've got a job now, but later I found out that I don't have a black pair of shoes to go to work with, hence Jen & I decided to go on a shopping spree, also to find out what exactly is my size for australian clothing size :) for my uniform.

Myers was where I got the pair of shoes, before then I was so tempted to get this pair of Hush Puppies because its reputation tells me it's VERY COMFORTABLE, but I thought, maybe I should go hunt of something else too since I have some spare time.

I spent at least 2 hours in Myers just at the shoe department looking at shoes, I took 3 pairs to tried on, which were Mina Martini - $159.95, Hush Puppies - $109.95 & Sandler - $109.95. I also tried on a pair of Mileno - $139.95 later on but it's not something I wanna wear on during work although it looks good!

Jen & I reckon Mina Martini looked good :P When Jo came, she agreed it looks good too *winks* I walked up to the counter thinking, "Right, I gotta fork out $110(I've got $50 Myers gift voucher from June for my bday last yr) for this pair of shoes..*heart break*" That's when the good news kicked in. The guy at the counter told me they're giving further discounts to people who has a voucher(I still dont know where those people got it from) and people whom the staff can relate to as family and friend. So he was kind & nice enough to give me 35% discount on my shoes!! My heart & purse were JUMPIN FOR JOY at that moment. Now you do the math for how much I've paid!


I am so so excited that I wanna put up some pics of the shoe here..




LOL I dont care if you all think it looks normal or anything, I just wanna be bimbo for a short time span *bluek* Tomorrow I will be wearing this pair of pweety shoe to work :) *Showing off*

xoxo, Uebel

Saturday, April 21, 2007

I am HIRED!

Guess what!!?!? For the first time in my life, I have managed to got myself a job without connections :) Although it's not something that I expect to do after completing my degree but it has no harm to get some side income to support myself right!?

Today was a busy day, I got woken up early by a phone call from some company asking me the standard question whether I am still interested in the job, whether I will be able to do it..etc. Later the day I spent my time going broadway with Bern & Jen for some JSA shit which I didn't help much too :P. I had an appointment with Grace for my masters application and later was when the phone call came in! Wooo HOOO!!

I am happy and excited, new people I will be meeting, new people I will be working with, guess I gotta put in all my effort into this first proper job of mine to regularly get some income...

I am so happy happy happy :)!!

Wish me more luck on my new job. Thank god I finally found a job!

Tuesday, April 17, 2007

More photos..

I love, luv, lurve, liebe, cinta, suka, 爱,喜欢 <3<3<3 my new layout soOoOoo MUCH!
Hence more photos & updates *jumps around*
Miow & Man's Birthday Dinner @ Belgian Bier Cafe
*slurps JUICY MUSSELS*
Before Dinner was served..while also waiting for Miow's arrival..





Look at how the boys look so funny trying the beer on a beer platter they ordered *ROFL*

There goes dom playing with his FAT JUICY MUSSEL



Next up, the FOOD & DRINK POSERS reunited *wink*

Candidate #1: Dominic Heah

Candidate #2: Vin Joy Low


Candidate #3: Chiang Hao Wong

and the winner is...

The Born Poser: Julian Lam


Happy Belated Birthday Man!


Happy Belated Bday Miow :)


And how could we forget, the damn typical Housemates 2007 photo :)



p/s: I laosai-ed(had diarrhea) the next day, I still wonder whether it was the mussels, the sausages, the salad or the cake. Not surprised if it's the cake due to the large amount of chocolate consumed while jo baked the cake(with the gals).

Ju's Birthday Dinner on my new layout :)

Yes I am still on dial up, but guess what, I still am gonna do my photo posts, this is a long awaited one..

Last friday the Mahjong Inc celebrated our youngest member's birthday @ Coast Restaurant, Cockly Bay Wharf, and yes we do have like 3 suckers for the view :)
It was a conned job with the help of all members in MJ Inc, successfully done I'd say..
Look at Julian's "OMFG I AM SO SURPRISE & SPEECHLESS" face

The Mahjong Inc

A Thank You Kiss on the cheek(Okay he gave everyone a kiss okay!!)

We then had dessert @ Lindt's Cafe @ Darling Harbour..Yes we sometimes can be a lil cuckoo..

Who's got bigger eyes?

Now who's got smaller ones?


Yes I am greedy, so what? it's Velour - Chocalate Cheesecake *slurps*

The gals initially planned to go for a party @ Equilibrium, World Square, the boys decided to join in after our persuasion on how they all should relax on a friday night..Everyone went but only 2 gals could sneaked in, 5 left outside like some sohais, after waiting for more than 1/2hr and were told that no one is allowed to be in anymore. So we got our refund and guess what, we've got AUD$15 bucks EXTRA!

The 5 SOHAIS

Plan B continued, we walked to 7-11 and got ourselves some mixers using the EXTRA AUD$15 bucks we got, the night then continued with more alcohol and cock-talking :)
The 2 SOHAIs *LOL*
I am sure it was a great night, not just for Mr. Julian Lam Kar Weng but to all of us. Once again, HAPPY EARLY BIRDDAY JU! Enjoy your last few days of being 19!! We'll all be here to welcome you to the 2xth club!

Sunday, April 15, 2007

Gemini (May 21 - Jun 21)

The Bottom Line
There's a lot to learn right now, so asking good questions is essential.
In Detail
The universe has a lot to teach you right now, and asking tons of questions will help you with your lessons. Don't be shy -- and don't worry about appearing unintelligent. There is absolutely no point in trying to fake your way through situations that could be educational opportunities. Fess up when you don't understand something. Chances are, you will be doing not only yourself but also other people a favor by asking for a clarification.


How true is the above?

Things will be changing very soon, dont know what is there to expect when the changes are there. Sigh. To do or not to do? Am I ready for all these to happen? I hate having all these personal thoughts. On the happy side, I've had 2 days of good food during easter break :) The juicy mussels and salmons, yum!

Out of sheer boredom, I decided to have a thought about what I love(in terms of things, not people)..
  • Seafood
  • Gangster movies
  • Vodka
  • Cam whoring
  • Colourful stuff
  • Make ups
  • Perfumes
  • Nail Polish
  • Dressing up
  • Shopping
  • Piercing

Some things that I've never tried but thought of doing if I can overcome the fear and consequences behind it

  • Sky diving
  • Tattoo
  • Bungee Jumping

Another few things that I regret doing

  • Giving up on Piano & Guitar lessons
  • Not travelling around Europe when I was in germany
  • Picking up smoking & drinking
  • Wasted 3 yrs of uni life bumming around and not taking studies seriously :(

look what the uebel is talking..

Monday, April 09, 2007

The 2 major joint events- sports carnival and dance party of the malaysia societies were done, a round applause to all the organisers who make them a success. I have nothing to look forward to except for more stress until god knows when. I asked myself again and again whether I will be just as tough as it may seem to go through all the challenges in life, things that is least expected will also happen to be there sometimes to screw my life up.

I obviously did not enjoy my night with a whole aching body, tired mind and soul. For once I managed to go home needing no one to take care of me. Now again with the drink and shot count, drink-3, shot-2, cigarrate-uncountable. I was bored and tired, tired to get drunk, I could've gotten drunk but I was in control, not wanting to do anything embarassing to create more scandals, better to go on a low profile.

*keeps fingers crossed*

Tuesday, April 03, 2007

I got Conned!

Screw the previous post, I HAD NO INTERVIEW TODAY! I GOT CONNED. dammit. I had this interesting dream this morning while my alarm clock started ringing(and I ignored it) and I only got up after jenny knocked on my door(because my alarm clock annoys her, LOL). Did the usual, shower, change, make up, got myself all ready to go for an interview and that's when all this bullshit started to happen.

I walked into retravision in World Square and spoke to this guy who was at the counter..
Joy: Hey good morning I am here for an interview at 11am.
Guy: Ohh okay, who told you to come?
Joy: A guy called but I dont remember his name, all I remember was he told me to refer to either terrence or joey.
Guy: You sure? Is it Phillip? I will check it for you..
5 minutes later..
Guy: I am sorry but there isn't any one with the name terrence or joey, the accounts manager is currently out too.
Joy: Oh its okay, I will go find out what's the name of the guy who called and come back
2 minutes later..after calling jenny to find out..
Joy: Oh his name is james, can u double check it for me? Maybe you might wanna check for me whether they've received my resume.
Guy: Alright, write me your name and I'll go have a look for you.
*wrote my name*
5 minutes later..
Lady: What interview are you here for?
Joy: I applied for the full time cashier and a guy named james called on friday to tell me to come for an interview
Lady: @.@ James? I will go check for you..
2 minutes later..
Guy: There isn't anyone by the name of james and we didn't receive your resume.
Joy: Oh okay, another lady just went to check for me too so i'll wait for her.
Guy: Alrite.
1 minute later..
Lady: I am sorry but we dont have any james..
*WTF!!!*
I obviously didn't say that but I had that wtf thought in my mind. I went to the glass window to check for the email address printed there. I walked hom with anger because of the uncomfortableness my heels are giving me and the fact that I actually prepared for the interview,made an effort to wake up early eventhough I really felt damn sleepy and of course my time on the make ups. URGH I tell you!!

I came home and check on my gmail, it was the right email address that I sent to, but what actually went wrong in between? Could it be that guy who's dumb and doesn't know shit? Something must have been wrong in between and it pisses me off because it's like my 1st time receiving a call telling me that I am chosen to go for an interview in my entire life, and it's a bloody bad start for something like this. Call me superstitious, I dont f*cking care. I am just so not happy..Miss MinLi Eng, I am gonna gobble my easter bunny tomorrow if I am still not happy about this, I already had my sinful indulgence - vanilla ice cream with hot chocolate fudge about 2 hours ago :)

Sunday, April 01, 2007

1st Job Interview

Attending my FIRST job interview tomorrow, not shitless scared but a lil nervous. Prays hard for me so that I can get some $$ to survive while waiting for my PR application. Uncountable job application I've sent in and finally got one, luck isn't that bad eyy..I hope this is a good start, realllyyy